1. Technology
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Awareness Ribbons

The Colors and Their Meanings


Awareness ribbons are used as a universal symbol for social and disease awareness depending on the colors or the patterns used. Many of the numerous causes share colors of ribbons.

The list below gives some of the colors used and a few of the causes they represent.

  • Red – Aids/HIV, Stroke, MADD, DARE
  • Orange – Multiple Sclerosis, Leukemia, Spinal Biffida, Suicide Prevention
  • Green – Leukemia, Kidney Cancer or Kidney Disease, Tissue and Organ Donation, Tourette's Syndrome
  • Blue – Prevention of Child Abuse, Arthritis
  • Light Blue – Prostate cancer, Addison's Disease
  • Purple – Alzheimers Disease, Crohn's Disease, Pancreatic Cancer, Domestic Violence, Animal Abuse
  • Brown – Colorectal Cancer, Anti-tobacco
  • Gray – Diabetes, Brain cancer, Parkinson's Disease
  • Lime Green – Lymphoma, Lyme Disease, Muscular Dystrophy
  • Burgundy – Hospice care, Hirschsprung's Disease
  • Periwinkle – Eating disorders, Pulmonary Hypertension, Esophageal Cancer, Stomach Cancer
  • Pink – Breast Cancer
  • Orchid – Testicular Cancer
  • Rainbow – Gay pride, Same Sex Marriage
  • Red, White and Blue – Patriotism, 9/11 Victims
  • Jigsaw Puzzle – Autism, Asperger Syndrome

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.